I used to work in an organization that was frequently responding to large government RFPs (Request for Proposal).  Granted, it was in the infancy of my project management career and it was before the organization had embraced any form of ongoing project management methodology.  The process went like this – I used an early tool (Project Workbench) to put together a Gantt Chart that showed we understood the tasks and had the resources to get the project done or perform on the program properly within the given time constraints.  That huge – and I do mean huge – Gantt Chart became part of the proposal to show we understood the tasks required of us and then we usually won the project or program.  Only once – at the end of my tenure with that organization – did we actually manage the project using my Gantt chart…and it really helped us manage the project and stay on track.

via Wrapping Project Management Around an RFP | Project Management Tips || Project Management, Collaboration and Knowledge Management Blog.

